Boykin Mill Farms
Sign up for the Boykin Mill Farms Newsletter!
sign up!

History at the Crossroads


he Boykin Community and Boykin Mill Pond are listed on the National Register of Historic Places.  Boykin derives its name from William Boykin II and his sons who settled this area in 1755.  Burwell Boykin, who was only 2 years old at the time, grew up to become a prosperous farmer with large land holdings North and South of Swift Creek.

The mill pond, consisting of some 400 flooded acres, and the original mill were built in 1792.  Water from the pond generated power to run the grits and flour mill, also a saw mill and later a cotton gin.  In 1786 a church was established, and it awaits your visit today.  A tavern was built at the juncture of The Kings Highway (now highway 261) and roads leading to the East.  The last battle of the Civil War was fought in Boykin on April 18th, 1865.


The Mill Pond Properties are presently owned by heirs of L.W. Boykin, II, a sixth-generation descendent of the original 1755 settler.  Today the quaint historic buildings are occupied by merchants who  continue to serve not only  the surrounding community, but also a growing number of visitors who come to experience the charm and simplicity of a place that embodies the Southern rural lifestyle through the ages.


Boykin Grits.  Order Now!

designed, developed and hosted by SENSE for the Web

Mill Address:
73 Boykin Mill Road
Rembert, South Carolina 29128

Mailing Address:
PO Box 894
Camden, South Carolina 29021

Valid XHTML | CSS | 508

phone | 803-424-4731